Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Though, effective governance of a country and dispensation of justice require impartial application of laws; times, circumstances, and places that define their relevance and effectiveness are all variables. Therefore, laws must be flexible enough to account for these variables. Yet, this flexibility must not come at the cost of consistency in delivering justice and governing the country.

Verily, laws must also be flexible to account for circumstances because exceptional circumstances demand exceptions to the law. In grave circumstances, it becomes indispensable for the administration to change even basic laws for the overall good and safety of the society. For instance, though free movement is the fundamental right of the people; it may be curbed in the event of a mass violence, pandemic or an attack forcing authorities to declare lockdown or national emergency. Conversely, on humanitarian grounds, laws must allow for granting clemency to non habitual offenders, whose circumstances forced them to choose the criminal path, to allow for their rehabilitation. Certainly, a person committing theft due to severe penuriousness for the first time cannot be considered on par with a repeat offender.

Secondly, laws lose relevance with the time. Many of the laws that govern countries today were formulated at the inception their constitution. Given that situations change over time, those laws may not be as relevant or effective at present as they were. For instance, due to the fear of trade deficit and domestic companies, many countries, by law, prohibited free trade. However, the need for globalization demands that nations negotiate free trade agreements, albeit with some regulations. Similarly, the effectiveness of any law in solving an issue is best tested by time. For example, sport betting was restricted in many countries for decades. Yet, the practice continued to become prevalent; and the countries realized that the activity cannot be curbed and should best be regulated by legalizing it with strict conditions. The change in law allowed for better government control of betting and reduced exploitation that was rampant in the clandestine operation previously. Therefore, laws must be considerate of the need of the times to remain relevant and effective.

Thirdly, a country is a diverse entity with various groups residing in different places practicing diverse culture, occupations, and ethics. Laws that are suitable for one group may be contrary to the interest of others. Therefore, to cater for the need of its diverse population, a country must be sensitive to their sentiments. It is for this reason that France had to legalize gay marriages; India had to revoke adultery laws; and so on. Lastly, places must also have significance in deciding the application or exemption of certain laws. For example, the basic right of every citizen to relocate, buy property, and settle anywhere within the country, may be not applicable for certain areas under government protection for conserving their ecosystem. Yet, this law must be flexible enough to exempt the tribal groups traditionally residing in forests.

However, without any objectivity in Law, judges would be forced to use their own opinions and social biases to deliver verdicts which could be, at times, different for the same offence. The ostensible flexibility of the law would then serve to weaken it; and render it a political tool of the mighty. Moreover, whimsical alteration and modifications of the laws by the government, every now and then, is also detrimental. People would not only lose the trust in the essence of the constitution but also the country would be chaotically dictated by the terms of the elected leaders taking turns every five years. Hence, flexibility and modifications in the laws must be provided and practiced with certain constraints and thorough deliberation of long-term consequences.

In conclusion, laws must indeed be flexible enough to account for the needs of the hour, circumstances and needs of the people, and significance of places. Yet, the practice of changing the law must be judicious; and be contingent upon careful evaluation of the importance of that change and its lasting repercussions and influence.