Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Education is not about learning existing knowledge but is also bout questioning that knowledge when it fails to cogently explain the given observation. Therefore, the speaker’s proposition that students should question, rather than passively accept, what they are taught is agreeable. Yet, undue questioning by students, especially when based on habits rather than substance, could be counterproductive for students, and impede the learning process.

The first reason to support the argument stems from the fact that ‘questioning’ is the best way of learning. This penchant of critical thinking has to be imbibed among the children from the early days of their education. The culture of questioning the explanations and information will prompt students to approach their subject critically and gain deeper understanding. It is this very habit of questioning existing knowledge that forms the basis of scientific discoveries. For example, had Copernicus not questioned Ptolemy’s geo-centric model of the universe, he would have never been able to revolutionize human understanding of the Universe. Additionally, this trend would also force teachers to come better prepared to the classroom, thereby, enhancing the knowledge transfer. Conversely, when students passively accept the classroom material they are unlikely to learn beyond the boundaries of the syllabus or ‘the lecture’. They will superficially absorb the classroom teaching; and would never develop the ability to apply that surface knowledge to practical problems that they may encounter in their profession or life.

Moreover, when students question what they are being taught, learning process becomes more interactive. Each individual has his own way of understanding a topic, explanation or a problem. When students are prompted to put forth their questions, instead of becoming mute spectators, they are likely to engage in discussions and debates, therefore, bringing in new ideas and perspectives to the given topic. This would not only help students to develop their own interpretation skills but would also enlighten them with broader and holistic understanding of the given topic. Consequently, the more the time is spent on discussing and debating a given topic, the greater would be the retention and transfer of knowledge.

Finally, the classroom inculcated habit of questioning the given information would also help students to protect themselves from trickery, and fulfil their role as responsible citizens. Many autocratic governments in the past have used education to disseminate particular ideologies. For instance, Hitler used school education as an avenue to propagate his idea of ‘Aryan Supremacy’ and ‘Jewish infidelity’. Similarly, History textbooks in North Korea, till date, are being used to glorify its present and past regimes. A sense of objectivity on part of students while studying would help them avoid becoming gullible propaganda tools. This would also foster self-confidence among students to question government policies, prevalent social norms, etc.

However, questioning founded on undue mistrust would be counterproductive for students’ education. Mistrusting basic laws of science, due to habitual suspicion, will create illusions about human existence and future. Therefore, students must first gain a threshold experiential knowledge before they start questioning the proven laws and timeless doctrines of science, law, arts, etc. Furthermore, a student who asks too many questions would find little time to absorb knowledge, even when that piece of information might be crucial for his education. Yet, they must never be discouraged from asking “Why?” for everything they are taught.

In conclusion, when students question what they are taught, instead of passively accepting it, they benefit by gaining deeper understanding of the subject; better participation in the learning process; and developing self-confidence and objectivity in their function as responsible citizens. However, that questioning must be based on experiential knowledge; otherwise, undue mistrust would always serve to impede learning.