advantages and disadvantages of social media

In recent years, we are living in a world where media plays a crucial role in our lives. While some may think that it has a harmful effect on citizens’ lives, others reckon that it is more likely to have an effective impact. This essay will mirror both standpoints and explain the reasons behind my opinion.

It is true that media has a lot of advantages. Firstly, it is a great source of information. People get the latest news through the media to keep updating the happenings around the world. It also acts as a buffer between the government and the inhabitants. Most of us may not ever meet a prime minister or president but we all know about them by regularly watching television or reading newspaper.

On the other hand, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Many residents now spend hours a day to browse on the Internet to get more information so that they will have something to talk about with their peers. This type of addiction can have effects ranging from lacks of sleep, communication and socialization with family and our relatives.

In conclusion, it seems that news media is a useful one but also has some limitations.