IELTS essay, topic: the development of technology causes traditional skills to die out, agree or disagree?

It is very important for every country to adapt new advancement in technology. Some people believe that recent technology takes away people from their traditional way of living while other think that it is crucial to be part of advanced technology. I strongly agree that it is easy to loose your traditional living style by acquiring new technology. This essay will explain my reasons for this thought.

First of all I think that it is very important for a culture and nationality to keep their own way of living. With new advancement people stop practicing their native way of living. For example mobile phones are a new invention which is almost a necessity for everyone now a days. Although it has its benefits but it has taken away our traditional way of meeting each other. There seemed to be less and less communication between family members even. In my country it used to be a fun activity for all family members to sit in the evening and share all experiences for day. Parents used to know their kids and children get wisdom from parents. But now every one has cell phones and their communication is by texting mostly. Sometimes four people sitting in one room can be on their phones with out talking each other for hours and hours. So it is important to keep our cultural values alive ,there should be more verbal communication and appropriate use of cell phones.

In the same way other recent advancement has effected mankind so abruptly that their culture has been lost. For example with invention of television people are spending their time on watching movies and shows. People used to read stories and watch live shows. There used to be cultural shows in theaters where many people go and spend their leisure time. That was a best way of entertainment along with connecting with friends and family. Story telling was a big event for kids. They used to sit with elders to hear interesting stories. But now TV and internet is very popular and children like to watch movies. Traditional games has been replaced by video games. Kids like to sit all day in front of TV and internet to play online games. This changed attitude has effected health of new generation.Obesity and medical problems like heart diseases are very common .

In summery, although technology is very important for development of a country, but it is very crucial for a nation to keep its identity. It is important to adapt new ways of living in moderation so that our new generation do not forget their roots.