Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, increasing number of old people are sent to old age homes or nursing homes rather than keeping them at their own homes. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such an approach.

To start with some positives, biggest advantage is old age homes and care homes are better equipped which is beneficial to the elderly. This is because they are physically week and their body doesn’t allow them to do more. For example, hospitals or care homes are designed with stairlifts and elevators to address the mobility problem of a physically challenged person. In contrast, they will not get those facilities at home since most of the houses are not designed to support them. Apart from well equipped, care homes employed trained medical staff. Which will certainly ensure a better treatment in case of any illness and medical emergency. The same is not the case at home.

Nevertheless, it also has problems of staying away from their own home, first is it deprive old people from loved ones. Family members may visit them some time but not always which results in a loneliness environment. Due to the same, it increases the possibility of diseases like depression and also causes a weak immune system. Another significant disadvantage of this is they are always surrounded by people suffering from various illnesses and problems. Unlike with staying with families, it reduces their level of satisfaction and overall happiness in life.

In conclusion, although old aged people are benefited from staying in care homes in terms of better facilities and well versed medical employees to care, it is also important to consider their overall wellbeing and happiness on account of staying away from loved ones.