as well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that besides making profits, businesses also have to take responsibilities for society. In my opinion, while the most vital purpose of business is money, I agree that they should also conduct that in a socially responsible manner.

On the one hand, the efforts of business trying to make maximise their profits would be beneficial to society. First of all, the more money companies make, the more taxes they have to pay. Therefore, the government can increase the amount of investment in building and developing many aspects such as hospitals, schools, charitable organisations. Secondly, businesses which make money can expand because they can set aside a larger amount of money from previous profits to invest again the companies. This can have a positive effect on employment by providing more jobs.

On the other hand, taking social responsibility also should be considered carefully when companies do their business. Due to the direct influence of business activities on the environment, businesses must not harm the environment. For example, emissions produced by factories which are the most common reason cause global warming and the pollution is more pressing because of the manufacturers' irresponsible disposal of waste. Moreover, businesses which make profits should put money back into the community through charity and financing scholarships. For instance, Unilever and Vinamilk have enhanced their brand images through programs donating their products and money for poor families.

In conclusion, although making profits is the fundamental principle of business, I believe that consideration of benefits society while doing business also should be another as important part as how much companies can get.