Every culture, throughout time, has recorded its history in one way or another.

In what ways can history be passed on to the next generation?

Why is history important to society?

It is true that nation’s cultures are mainly based in their histories. This essay will detail some of the methods to transfer cultural values through generations, and will explore why history is a vital element for every society.

To begin with, there are various mediums through which historical knowledge can be conveyed to the youngsters, the most significant of which is learning history at schools. This is immensely vital because if students learn history as a compulsory part of their curriculum, this would ensure that all students could possess the sufficient historical knowledge of their country when they grow as adult citizens. For Instance, in Egypt, since all pupils are taught about the history of Pharaohs, Egyptians tend to have a great appreciation to their old civilization. Another significant method to communicate history to the younger generations is through the older generations. This is influential because the more are the old people keen on educating the children about their national history, the more those children may become interested in their history.

It is commonly believed that historical knowledge do have a crucial value for the society because the identity of people is typically formed by their culture, which in turn based on their country’s history. Although the future of any country tend to be the main concern of its people, personal values are frequently associated with the historical culture of people. That is to say, nations who value their cultural values usually have stronger community ties and healthier interpersonal relationships. What is more, when citizens have better historical awareness and thus more appreciation to their identity, they tend to have higher loyalty to their country.

In conclusion, schooling and older generations are two effective channels to transfer history to young generations. Historical knowledge can be very beneficial to societies in terms of strengthening the community ties and raising loyalty among citizens