The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The human lifestyle has changed drastically in last few decades and it has resulted in an increasing number of obese people all around, owing to this, to deal with their health concerns people are putting a lots of pressure on medical care system. whereas there is a group of people who believe that an effective way to deal with this issue is to include physical education chapters in school course modules. I strongly disagree with the opinion as studying about physical education will not solve the issue without a practical implementation.

Out of all the arguments, the strongest one to prove my view point is that adding physical education as course will not be an effective solution because as students are already overburden with the subjects on top of that adding one more subject will increase pressure on them, owning to that instead of learning form the subject they will just study it to pass the exam and the subject will lose its credibility. For example, reading about computer and its operations without performing any practical on real computer system will not teach anything about computers.

Another reason to prove my point is that, it is not only the teenager or school-goers who are facing health issue and trying to find out a solution for this rather the sufferers are lot more than that. So in that case adding a subject in school book will not be an effective solution rather it requires a few bigger initiatives from individual as well as government to beat this issue. For example, recently in India government has declared June 21 as international yoga day, this initiative for awareness regarding yoga and its benefits has helped at a great extent.

In conclusion, I believe that it is the practical awareness among people regarding health and fitness which will help more than a theoretical subject taught in school.