In many countries, prison is the most common solution for crimes. However, many think that better education is the most effective way to prevent people from committing further crime.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The world in which we live is full of people with shady character and broken moral compasses. Therefore, a manifold number of crimes are committed every day. While it is a universal practice to imprison criminals, many people opine that education has ampler effects in preventing crime. Although I concur that higher emphasis should be placed on educating the masses, I am not convinced that the imprisonment of criminals should be ceased.

On the one hand, the advantages of education are irrefutable. First and foremost, inculcating the masses prevents the majority of criminal acts to occur in the first place. To elaborate, by teaching the younger generations regarding the damages these acts cause both to the individual and society, many of them may avoid joining gangs. Moreover, decreasing the number of criminals as a cause of edification will eliminate a superfluous burden that is on government’s shoulder. To illustrate, take the cost of having prisoners in custody as an example. Statistics show that imprisonment of every individual adds 7 thousand dollars to the local cost of states.

On the other hand, having amenities such as prisons have a plethora of benefits. The first and perhaps the most lucrative point is that they isolate criminals from other people; thence, not only preventing them from committing a crime, but also eliminating their influence on law abiding citizens that may pivot to the criminal life. Furthermore, the very idea of imprisonment prevents many people from embarking criminal missions. To illustrate, a study shows that after introducing capital punishments such as life imprisonment, the rate of crime gradually dropped to the half of the initial number. Last but not least, prisons are places that detainees can reflect on past behaviors and atone.

To recapitulate, on the basis of the aforementioned explanation, I admittedly agree that teaching people can prevent many people from committing a crime, however, prisons’ role in this is irrefutable as well.