In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Some think this is good, while others believe this is a problem for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The average age of a country's population is significantly important. While it is believed by some people that old population is more beneficial for a country because this way the government is less burdened, others assert this trend causes serious challenges such as workforce scarcity.

One aspect which some people claim is advantageous if a large proportion of society consists of older generations can be identified as less responsibility for the government. When the majority of the public is old, the superfluous burden of allocating budgets to programs such as edification and maternity will be lifted from government's shoulder, allowing this capital to be to be assigned to improving other existing schemes such as health care and transportation, which in turn allows the masses to have a higher quality of life. Statistics show that Sweden, for instance, is considered number one in quality of life among European counties because their government is able to shift funds to spend on qualitative programs due to the fact that more than 78 percent of their population are 55 or older. However, other people put forward contradictory arguments.

Another angle on this argument suggests having an old population will cause a serious problem. An aged populace will lead to a shortage of workforce, preventing companies from being able to recruit young workers, which in turn will result in numerous financial problems that might cripple the society. Canada, for example, is currently suffering from an old majority whose inability to work has led to a 9 percent drop in GDP last year. The Canadian government thus is forced to encourage foreigners to immigrate to their country. This evidence illustrates the principal drawback of having a large proportion of elders in society.

To conclude, it is clear that having a large number of senior citizens may temporarily raise the quality of life, however, I believe this trend jeopardizes the country's economy in the long run due to human resource shortages.