In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense?

What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country's past?

Traditional costumes is one of the important aspect to preserve connection with the old times. However, other ways, such as folklore, cultural traditions, handicrafts, and rituals also plays a great role in keeping connection intact with the past.

Admittedly, these costumes helps us to memorize our connection with our roots despite of the fact that we are living in modern era. These dresses are represented on various days of national importance, like Independence day and Republic day which helps us to pay tribute to our legends who have sacrificed their life in order to save the nation. Mostly grandparents, still prefer to wear the traditional clothes which were worn before independence as they believe that such clothes are linked with the heritage and rituals of the nation.

There are various ways which helps us to connect with our past and first one is handicraft, there are many museums which has antique handicrafts of medieval times in possession. This art also depicts the birth and the development of the nation which is grounded in the truth. Another one is linguistic ability, people living in the country side still use the traditional language whereas city dwellers have switched to another language. In other words, language enables us to connect with the past as this is inherited by us from our ancestors.

In conclusion, these are multiple ways in which we can connect with our past but traditional costume is one of the essential way. All the ways should be given utmost respects and this is something which we have received as a heirloom from our ancestors.