In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

In most parts, there is a high demand for building houses. However, due to the lack of space in the metropolitan area, construction should be carried out in rural areas. Some people assert it is imperative to preserve the countryside and preclude these parts from being residential. While I concur this notion has some merits, I do not think it is comprehensively true.

On the one hand, supporters of the aforementioned viewpoint enlist some facts to defend their perspective. They say If the construction of new houses is carried out in these parts, the ecosystem will be rendered deteriorated. To elaborate, firstly, to build houses in rural areas, some vegetation should be removed from premises. Not only this trend will change the scenery, but the animals that live there will also be forced to immigrate or evolve with the new situation. In either case, the ecosystem will be altered. Secondly, this development will cause air and soil contamination. These residential zones need infrastructures such as roads and sewage system, which will contaminate local soil and air. For example, statistics show that the level of pollution has risen 80 percent in newly urbanized zones compared to a few decades ago when these parts were rural.

On the other hand, it seems that stopping this development has more pivotal consequences. First and foremost, it leads to overpopulation of cities. Consequently, other challenges such as traffic congestion and water treatment problem will emerge. Moreover, as an alternative to urbanizing rural areas, other methods such as building vertical cities should be employed, which needs far more resources than the former. As a result, more jungles should be deforested and more mines should be dug, which is more harmful to the ecosystem than building houses in the countryside.

To recapitulate, on the basis of the mentioned explanations, although protecting the countryside is a noble cause, I am not convinced that stopping the construction of houses in these parts is more lucrative because not only further development in cities has the same negative effects, but also more consequential problems such as overpopulation will arise.