People living in the 21st century generally have a better quality of lives than people born in earlier centuries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays societies and lifestyles have changed to a degree that it would be almost unrecognizable to our ancestors if they could travel through time. Due to this significant difference in ways and methods of living, the question arises as to whether the quality of life has improved in 21st century compared to those who came before. In this essay, my viewpoint on the subject is discussed.

The era in which we live has some undeniable drawbacks if we compare it to older times. Our lives are more mechanical and people are not as close to each other than before. Due to the abundance of difficulties that are associated with our times, people tend to extend their working hours so that they could afford the marvels of the modern world. For example, people spend more time at work to pay for unnecessary extravagates such as expensive cars and houses. Hence, they steer away from social life. Furthermore, no one can argue with the deterioration of the ecosystem due to air and water pollution which decreases our quality of life as a consequence.

On the other hand, I believe the advancement and development of this modern times and its effects on increasing quality of life cannot be disregarded. Increasing the life expectancy and improvement of healthcare and medical technology is undeniable. Many ailments that took life in the past are no longer a threat to mankind thanks to mentioned marvels. Moreover, modern lifestyle is more convenient and comfortable than ever before because of internet, telecommunication and fast modern transportation means, thus, one can assume that with the advent of these concepts, the quality of life has hiked over the past century.

By the way of conclusion, while no one can claim the quality of life has improved in all respects in the 21st century, based on the points made above, I am confident to say our quality of life is generally better in this era than previous generations who came in past centuries.