In recent years, more and number of people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

An increasing number of readers, these days, opt to read their favorite books in a digitized format instead of a printed version. This essay argues that, it certainly, brings more advantages to people's life and environment which supersede the negative aspects it has.

To begin with, a major compelling reason people prefer to electronic book version is because of its environment friendly nature. When a large population chose to use digital copies of printed books, publishers are forced to adopt this trend. Eventually they are pushed to make digitized books that benefit our environment and preserve the nature, as a consequence. In other words, the less demand for paper results in less cutting down of trees which is a vital resource to produce paper. A study by a global consultant revealed that, more than a million trees are saved every year from hammering down inhibiting paper production, as a large chunk of population opts for e-books.

There is another school of thought of e-book readers put strain on their eyes during prolonged reading hours. This is more of a personal phenomenon and shall vary from each individual. With advances in medical field and gadget technology, this aspect could be dealt with efficiency. Therefore, it is evidently clear that e books take precedence over the printed copies and holds an inconsiderate negative aspect.

In conclusion, readers’ inclination towards digital books over physical books largely benefits themselves and our nature by proving they are nature friendly, handy and cost-effective against all the negative aspect it stacks up. I firmly argue that popularity of e-books will increase over time due to its advantages outweighing disadvantages.