Shopping is dangerous because it makes people selfish and careless with money. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the very act of shopping itself causes us to become self-oriented individuals incapable of managing money; however, despite having its cons, I believe shopping is not the root of our carelessness.

It is without doubt that modern human cannot live without buying new products once in a while. Advertisement, low quality products, and the culture of consumerism in general, are all the reasons that force us to buy, even if we do not want to. To put is simply, we, as social intelligent animals, have to overcome our mundane needs by the act of shopping. Therefore, it is fair to say that, blame is not on our desire for new items, and claiming that it makes us selfish is intuitively wrong.

However, there is another side to the story which I think is important to address here. Looking at the current statistics of bankruptcy and personal debts, it is indisputable that people has become extremely careless with their money; thus, one might mistake the simultaneous increase in shopping as the reason. However, I think modern life contains a complex interaction of several factors such as cultural norms, capitalism, and unachievable high standards, and both the increase in debts and purchasing are merely the byproducts of this complexity. In other words, they not only do not depend on each other, but also, they both are the result of this complexity, which I call it "the irony of modern world".

In summary, I believe that the act of shopping neither makes us selfish nor have any adverse effect on our money management capabilities, and it is just a misunderstanding. On the contrary, it is the complexity of living the modern life which has made us to be self-oriented and careless.