Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that high school students should be involved in unpaid community services as a compulsory part of high school programs. Most of the colleges are already providing opportunities to gain work experience, however these are not compulsory. In my opinion, sending students to work in community services is a good idea as it can provide them with many lots of valuable skills.

Life skills are very important and by doing voluntary work, students can learn how to communicate with others and work in a team but also how to manage their time and improve their organizational skills. Nowadays, unfortunately, teenagers do not have many after school activities. After school clubs are no longer that popular and students mostly go home and sit in front of the T.V., browse internet or play video games.

By giving them compulsory work activities with charitable or community organizations, they will be encouraged to do something more creative. Skills gained through compulsory work will not only be an asset on their C.V. but also increase their employability. Students will also gain more respect towards work and money as they will realize that it is not that easy to spend them and will hopefully will learn to spend them in a more practical way.

Healthy life balance and exercise are strongly promoted by the NHS, and therefore any kind of spare time charity work will prevent from sitting and doing nothing. It could also possibly reduce the crime level in the school age group. If students have activities to do, they will not be bored and come up with silly ideas which can be dangerous for them or their surroundings.

In conclusion, I think this is a very good idea, and I hope this program will be put into action for high schools or colleges shortly.