1.Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough,

The author has presented his argument by stating that the arctic deers living on Canada's arctic islands have changed their migration patterns across the sea due to a decline in their population. The decline in population is noticed by the local hunters. One might find the argument to be sound, but as they go through it thoroughly, they may find many loopholes which question the validity of it. The author has failed to state many crucial pieces of evidence to support his claim.

The population decline of the arctic deers is reported by the hunters. This itself is an unreliable source of information. As they hunt in particular areas that are accessible to them, they might have made that remark for nearby land. Also, the hunters may themselves be a reason for the reducing deer population. It is easy to blame a common enemy, i.e. global warming, for something that they might have done. We have seen many cases historically that overhunting has led to extinction or endangerment of a particular species. In the 19th century India, hunting of tigers was a popular sport which led to an almost extinction of the tigers. This claim by the hunters should have been thoroughly researched by the author.

As the author has written that global warming is indeed an imminent threat, it is also leading to warming up of the planet. The ice caps in the north are melting and the previously inhabitable islands covered in ice are now able to support life as they have enough water and warmth to sustain it. The deers may not have the need now to travel south for a warmer climate, as they must be getting adequate food and weather in northern regions. Also, due to an imminent threat from the hunters in the south, they may be more comfortable staying in the northern islands, than migrating south.

Evolution is a necessary part of nature for any species to survive. It occurs over long periods of time, due to changes in climate and surrounding conditions. As the climate is definitely changing rapidly these days, and also the surrounding conditions due to human intervention, evolution also needs to occur at the same pace for species to survive. We may be noticing an evolutionary change in the arctic deers, particularly in their migration patterns, as they may no longer have the need to travel south for a habitable environment. The hunters may not be aware of this and simply claimed that there's a population decline.

The author has surely made a valid point by claiming that change in migration patterns has led to a reduced population of arctic deers in Canada's arctic regions. He has given some reasons behind this claim, but they are not adequate enough to arrive at a conclusion. Major pieces of evidence are missing throughout the argument and a lack of thorough research on part of the author is evident. The author clearly needs to work more on the argument to make it significant.