The author of the passage claims that the population of arctic deer is declining and cause for this decline is that deer are not able to follow their age-old migration patterns. For the support of this argument, the author has cited evidence such as reports from local hunters and recent global warming trends. On a cursory glance, these evidences might seem convincing but on deeper examination, they are rife with flaws and loopholes.

First, the creditability of the reports by local hunters is questionable. According to them, arctic deer’s population is declining. It might be possible that the calculation by hunters is itself erroneous. Hunters might have access only to the wild till hunting area, and they would count the deers within this area and deers outside the region will remain uncounted. Thus, deer’s population calculation is unwarranted and therefore reports of local hunters do not give the best evidence to support author’s argument.

Furthermore, Global warming trends might not necessarily mean that they are valid for the arctic region too. If these global warming trends are congruent with the arctic weather variation then it will support the author’s argument. But if global trends are not representative for the arctic region then this evidence would hold no value for author’s claim.

Finally, the author attributes the decline of deer’s population to them not being able to follow their age-old migration pattern. While the author has failed to consider other possible reasons leading to deer’s population decline. For example, there might be an increase of predatory animals in the region that would be feeding on deer or the industries nearby have polluted the region so much so that deers are dying due to the consumption of toxic waste. Hence, it can’t be firmly concluded that the inability to follow migration led to decline in deer’s population.

Although here the author has tried to create a cogent case for the decline of arctic deer’s population. But the argument is ridden with unwarranted assumptions and invalid evidences. To further strengthen the conclusion author must include a deer’s population report from a reliable source, conclusively mention that global warming trends are valid for the arctic region too and proof that sole reason for the decline in deer’s population is their inability to follow migration pattern.