1. The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty —Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that for quick and high price sale of houses, Adams Realty is better than the Fitch Realty. The writer lists some clues for his standpoint all of which are skeptical and require further explanation to be considered as a valid suggestion.

The first problem is with the reason which is based on the comparison of numbers of branches of each firm and their working hours. The assumed situation by the writer is the higher number of real estate agents and full-time working hours are the indicator of priority of Adams Realty over Fitch Realty. However, the missing part of this assumption is the exact volume of presented services by both Realties and their covered service area. In fact, a big agent can give service for bigger neighborhood area rather than the small one. Therefore, there is a possibility that the agents of the Fitch Realty are bigger than Adams Realty; thus, with their few numbers the give the same service that Adams Realty does. About clue about the part-time occupation by Fitch Realty is shaky since there is no cogent evidence about the number of employees. Maybe the number of employees in Fitch firm is twice the Adams firm; therefore, the same amount of affair is done by the larger working force in the fewer hours. In general, the number of agents and the part-time working period cannot be the logical evidence for the priority of Adams Realty over Fitch Realty.

The second issue is about the annual income of the two firms in which the solo indicator is the average price of sold home by two realities. Indeed, the numerical data their average is not the exact representer of series of numbers. For instance, in this clue the price of $168,000 could be the average of one house with the value of $169,000 and one house with the value of $1,000; consequently, the whole income will be $169,000. On the other hand, there is the possibility that Fitch Realty sold the two house two with a value of $144,000. In this scenario, the total annual income will be $288,000. This example explicitly illustrates, these average values cannot be the exact benchmark of annual revenue which the author assumed the Adams Realty earns more the Fitch. Furthermore, the only income source for the realty agents is not selling the house, they also sell other real estates or even they rent them, all of which can be listed as the income sources which are underestimated by the author.

The third assumption that the Adams Realty sells the listed homes faster with the high prices, solely by the consideration of two irrelevant sell experiences by these two firms at two data with a duration of 10 years is not a logical and valid one. The first issue is about the sold houses which are not identical; there is the possibility that the home sold by Adams Realty possesses a better condition such as the modern architecture, more facilities, or better neighborhood. Consequently, the sold home by Adams Realty is sold faster than the house is sold the Fitch firm. The second problem, the comparison of the two varied periods of times which there is ten years difference between them. The listed house in the Fitch Realty is related to ten years ago while in the Adams Realty, the home is listed currently, during these ten years there are lots of alterations which make two situations to not be identical. For example, there is feasibility that in the past ten years the demands for the homes has been increased while there is not sufficient supply for this demand; thus, the sold house by Adams Realty has the higher price.

The wrap it up, all the aforementioned assumption with their failure lucidly depict the faultiness of this conclusion.