According to a new report from the federal government, overall donations of money to nonprofit groups increased last year. Most notably, donations to international aid groupsincreased by 30 percent, followed by donations to environmental groups, which increased by 23 percent. In contrast, donations to educational institutions did not fare so well, actually decreasing by 3 percent. All the major economic indicators suggest that consumer spending is higher than average this year. In particular, spending has risen considerably for luxury items, such as high-end automobiles, electronics, and fashion, showing that potential donors have ample disposable income. Therefore, the clearest explanation for the decline in donations to educational institutions is that people actually value education less than they did in the past.

In the argument presented, it is assumed that consumer spending led to the decline in donations to educational institutions. The author also assumes that people do not value education as much as they did in the past and so have led to less donation. Although the argument when viewed superficially seem cogent, when thought of critically, it reveals some flaws.

First of all, since the report states that spending is higher than average in the year in question, it is reasonable to think that the decline will not only be realized in education but in other nonprofit groups. It is stated that donations to nonprofit groups like international aid increased by thirty percent while there was a twenty-three percent increase in environmental groups. This reveals one flaw that makes the argument illogical.

In support of the above, the reported three percent decrease does not seem like a significant decrease. Anybody will expect a much larger percentage decrease to agree that the decline was something to worry about. Besides, the three percent decrease could have been a coincidence and not a direct effect from overspending by donors.

Also, the donors may have noticed that the other nonprofit groups needed the donations than the educational institutions. It is possible that the donations to the educational institutions from the previous years was enough for the running of the institutions. In short, the demand might have been weighed to see the group that needed it the most. It is reasonable to appropriate funds to groups that are in need than one that is faring well.

Additionally, the part that states that people value education less than they did in the past, was not made lucid enough. The relation of spending on luxury items as an economic indicator to how people value education, is not logical. Spending on items of that sort directly and indirectly boosts the economy one way or the other but does not point out a reduction in value of education.

To conclude, judging how people value education due to a somewhat insignificant decrease in donation does not make a firm argument. If the decrease was realized in all the groups, it would be reasonable to say that the spending made a huge effect. Aside that, if the decrease in the donation to the educational institution was a much larger decrease, it would have been something to brood about. A better report that gives vivid information about the reduction in value for education will also make the argument stronger.