According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that with honor code program in Groveton college the cheating among students has been dropped during last five years, this author’s argument does not make a cogent case for recommending the honor code program. It is easy to understand that the same plan may be work for other universities and colleges too, but the author needs verifiable evidences to prove his/her claim.

First of all, the author concludes that if students agree to do not cheat, they are not going to cheat. That is not true. Every student already knows that they should not cheat but they still do. Even sometimes, students see their classmates cheating, but they do not report it because they are their friends or they do not want to get in trouble.

Additionally, the author just mentions the number of cheating during past five years but not the total number of students. Based on the author, there were thirty cases of cheating before the honor code program. Twenty-one cases of reported cheating for first year and the number dropped to fourteen after five years. These numbers do not make sense because we do not know the total number of students. Imagine the total number of students dropped to half amount after five years, and the cheating number dropped to half too. As a result, the cheating numbers has not been changed.

Lastly, the author recommends the same plan as Groveton college for other universities and colleges. There can be many differences between Groveton college and other colleges like the total number of students, and the ways to deal with cheating. For example, the administers of other colleges might not be willing to ruin their academic reputations by reporting cheating. They might give the first notice of cheating to their students without anybody else to know.

The author can make his/her claims persuasive when he/she gathers information about the total number of students and also honesty of students in Groveton college during five years. Also, the author should report the similarities and differences between the Groveton college and other universities. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.