All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the article assumes that the driver's education course at Centerville high School is an effective way to address the series problem about the car accident. However, this assumption cannot be accepted as it stands, it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

A threshold presumption is that the several drivers of car accidents involved near the Centerville are the teenagers. However, there is a vague term of several. There is no lucid evidence that what is the increment of the accident and the teenagers’' population. If there is an enhance of 20 percent in the juvenile population, on the other hand, the number of car accidents related to the teenage has 10 percent incline; all in all, there is a decrease in the quantity of accident rather than the increase. Besides, if there is an increased percent, as long as, there is no clue that the chief blame for the crash is the teenager driver. It is an abortive assumption. Maybe, there is bad paving in the road, or there is no restricted rule about the driving in the Centerville. Each of these cases presents a scenario in which the teenagers are not the primer reason of the incidents.

Second, the argument claims that there are some complaints from the parents about their busy schedule which prevents them from teaching the driving to their children. While there is no cogent evidence that these some parents cover the majority of the families, the necessity of the driving instruction is a facial requirement. Maybe these some is the twenty percent of the parents. As a result, the investment of the extra instructor for the driving will be money consuming. This assumption could have been much fortified if it explicitly stated the numeric base of these complains. Otherwise, it is a weak reason for the instruction demand.

Finally, the author posits another shaky hypothesis, as the text mentioned the school would be monetary sponsored of this training course; thus, it is affordable to tight budget of the families. However, it cannot be accepted as it is; since there is no finance statistic to depict that how the school will support this program. For instance, they can do this monetary advocacy by the increasing the school tuitions and fees. Thereby the driving instruction budget will be supported by the parents indirectly. The argument would have been stronger had to provide economic information regarding the budget of the school, which is capable of supporting the program without the additional and indirect forces on the family.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is, therefore, unpersuasive. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned to the ratio of increment in the teenage crashes; moreover, most of the families are busy, and the course supported by the school independently. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debates.