All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the letter above argues that the school board force all students at Centerville High School to take the driver’s education for three different reasons: first, he cites accident records which happened around Centerville and teenagers were engaged; Second, some parents who have not enough time for parental instruction asked the mandatory course; Third, despite two nearby institutions, parents living on a tight budget cannot afford it. However, his reasoning from the evidence is based on unproven assumptions.

To begin with, he assumes that if a teenager-involved accident happened around Centerville, then one student of Centerville High School should be engaged in and responsible for the accident. On the one hand, it would be sound if there were only one school nearby. Yet, this does not necessarily hold true. If there are many other schools in Centerville, then requiring Centerville High School students to take the driver’s education would not result in any good output. Hence, if the assumption that the accidents were the student’s fault, this data does not support his claim.

Next, the letter writer presupposes that parents who complained their tight schedule represent the whole parents of the student. However, he gives no statistical justification for representativeness of the complaint. If the complaining parents are not representative to the whole parents, for example, they are too small in number, the fact that there were complaints from few parents does not justify the need for the mandatory driver’s education at Centerville High School.

Similarly, his reasoning depends on the assumption that the parents on a tight budget are representative. If they are not, say, only a few parents have trouble paying for driving education, it would be more cost efficient for school to give the students in need financial aid for driver’s education outside the school. Thus, to make his argument sound, he needs to suggest evidence for this unstated assumption.

Finally, although he gives additional evidence which makes up any logical gap I mentioned above, it does not mean that it is the best solution to the problem. This is because the writer assumes that launching driver’s education at the high school is more efficient than out-sourcing it. If we consider the additional costs of hiring new instructors, buying and building materials required for the courses, it would be reasonable to our-source the education to pre-existing institutions.

In sum, the writer’s reasoning is dependent on at least four unjustified and unstated assumptions. Should it be the case that this undischarged possibility is true, the conclusion of the letter stands on the unstable basis.