An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that scientists have proved that an especial scent of flowers have positive effects on chronic insomnia and it could cure insomnia in a short period of time. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that in a study 30 volunteers slept on lavender scent pillows for three weeks and were monitored electronically in a room. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, there is no sufficient evidence to support if this study is reliable due to the number of participants and a short period of time. One point that should be consider is that this study could not be accurate and reliable owing to the fact that the number of volunteers are restricted to 30 people, which everyone could have completely different sleep's habit. Indeed, this scent flowers should be test on a wide range and it would include vast majorities of people in order to prove its affection. It is also important to say that the author does not show how this lavender influence people's sleep. In addition, when people know they are monitoring there is possibility that their stress rise up and might not sleep soundly.

The author also asserts that the volunteers sleep conveniently during first week but wakened hardly. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some defects. Due to the paucity of evidence, that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author does not mention that whether the volunteers were exhausted or not. Indeed, there is possibility that they were tired enough to sleep soundly and it enhance the likelihood of not waking up easily. Alongside that, the author does not show any evidence about medication and the way they sleep during first week.

Finally, as set forth by the author during third week the volunteers sleep soundly and longer than previous weeks. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if this lavender scent flowers were pure without any substances added up to the scent. One point that should not go unnoticed is that there is possibility that some substances were used in this scent in order to take suitable outcomes, which will make volunteers sleep longer than ever. Indeed, the author does not provide any evidence to prove that this flower is healthy or not. In fact, it might result unnatural sleeping.

Having scrutinized all premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.