Argument Essay:-"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series d

The above argument appeared in an article in Grandview Beacon which says that city commissioners are of the opinion that symphony can now be fully self-supporting and its funding should be eliminated. Their recommendation is based on the fact due to increase in contributions and ticket prices the symphony can now be fully self-supporting. On the surface level, their recommendation seems sturdy but a deeper scrutiny presents various flaws and loopholes that make the conclusion vague.

First of all, the commissioners recommendation is based on the increase in private contribution. The fact that 200 percent increase doesn't prove the significant increase in the funding. The 200% increase can or cannot be significant because the funding of previous years is not provided so 200% increase can still account for 1% of total budget.

Similarly, double in attendance doesn't prove that the increase is significant unless attendance of previous years is sitting capacity is taken into consideration. Also the increase doubled for concerts in the park series and it doesn't mean that the attendance will remain same for all events. May be the concerts were of favourite artists or people didn't have any other source of entertainment or were free during that specific time period. These all things inevitably results in higher attendance.

Lastly but not the least, the fact that increase in ticket prices can reduce the attendance should also be taken into consideration and if the attendance reduces, Grandview Bacon will may need funding from city to survive since they won't be receiving the expected amount from tickets.

To conclude. the recommendation made my commissioners is vague and weak and it is difficult to make a concrete decision. The recommendation can only be passed if the amount of increase in private contributions and amount gathered through tickets is equal to the amount required by Grandview Symphony and only then the recommendation can be passed.