While it is reasonable that the owner of Movies Galore would like to reverse the decline of the video rental chain's profits, the resulting recommendation to implement similar changes from one store to all their other nine stores are based on tenuous arguments and unstated assumptions. The owner would need to answer some questions regarding the stated arguments in order for an informed decision to be made.

One of the suggested initiative to reduce operating expenses is to close earlier at 6pm rather than 9pm. It could be a reasonable solution if perhaps Downtown Marston is a working district and everyone leaves the area after working hours at around 6pm. Howeveer, applying the same treatment to a store that is located in the busy part of town where people hang out after working hours might be an ill-fated move. Customers will not be able to rent movies if they close early, costing them on potential revenue and hence profit.

Also, the owner suggests that all their stores elimiatee movies released more than five years ago. However, to study the effectiveness of such a suggestion, the owner would need to answer the question as to what is the demography of the people in downtown Marston. Downtown Marston could be comprised mainly of younger Generation Y people who are into the latest movies so it would make sense for the store there to not keep stock of older movies. However, it would be unwise for Movies Galore to do the same for their store in other region that consists mainly of the older generations. For example, if people in that region have a penchant of watching older movies in the 50s, we can clearly see that a move such as this would execerbate their decline in profits owing to the lack of customers.

The owner also states that raising the rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits owing to their reputation for special bargains. The owner should perhaps back his or her claim with solid empirical evidences that customers are not at all receptive to a price increase. If the rental price of Movie Galore is much lower than what the market rate it, perhaps increasing rental price will not hurt their reputation at all.

The owner claims that as a result of the success of the store in downtown Marston from a few initiatives taken to reduce operating expenses, the company should implement the same solution for all of their other stores. There is an unstated assumption that the effectiveness of the solution for one store can be extrapolated and replicated with the other nine stores. However, it is unclear how this suggestion might have the predicted result as implied. The owner would need to show that each of their stores will respond similarly to the changes if they were introduced, by factoring in variables such as store location and customer demographics. Else, the owner implying that the solution will work for all their stores is clearly is a stretch.

In conclusion, the onus is on the owner of Movie Galore to back his or her recommendations with solid evidences supporting the arguments. Otherwise, it is unclear how the recommendation would have the intended result of reducing operating expenses and hence buck the trend of their declining profits.