In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author recommends that Prunty County should implement the road improvement project such as increasing lane width, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections carried out by Butler County to reduce the number of road accidents on its county highways. However, before the argument can be properly evaluted, one would require further pieces of evidence mentioned below.

Firstly, are Butler County and Prunty County similar? In other words, can the evidence from one County be used to predict the outcome for another County? There is a possibility that Prunty County and Butler Country are remarkably different - perhaps Prunty County is more bucolic in nature while the Butler County is densely packed with people flooding on highways. Futhermore, it is possible that the highways in Prunty County are in pristine conditions whereas the highways in Butler County require overhaul at periodic intrevals due to wearing of the road surface by heavy traffic. If either of the scenarios has merit, then the author's recommendation would not prove to be beneficial for the Prunty County. Thus, it is imperative to understand the similarities and differences between both the counties.

Secondly, is there any legal action taken against the people in Prunty County for exceeding the speed limit? The author mentions that people in Prunty County often exceed the speed limit. However, he does not specify if a legal action is being taken against them or not. Implementing a law that would punish law breakers would to be the panacae for mitigating the occurence of road accidents. Such law would discourage people from exceeding the speed limit and thus serve to bring down the number of road accidents in Prunty County. If the county does not have such law, then the author providing a nostrum for reducing the number of accidents in Prunty County.

Finally, are there any other factors that are resposible for road accidents in Prunty county? The author prematurely assumes that exceeding the speed limit is the major factor for road accidents in Prunty County. However, this may not be true. Perhaps, the number of vehicles on the highways has been increasing and this increasing trend could be the reason for not decreasing road accidents. If this turns our to be true, then the author's line of reasoning is significantly weakened.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpursuasive as it does not provide any information addressing any of the above posed questions. If the author can provide evidence that answers the above questions in a detailed manner leaving no room for ambiguity, one would be in a better position to evaluate the argument.