The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

A glance at modern education sheds light on a question that has instigated debate for long, that is, whether the sense of cooperation or competition should be emphasized in preparing youngsters for futher leadership. Some contend that the best way to do so is to solely focus on cooperation, instead of competition. I partly agree with the statement, since working with others is becoming increasingly important in a connected world. However, ignoring competition may make our future leaders over-optimistic or even slef-content, which is devastating in a competitive world.

Foremost, the spirit of cooperation should be infused to student\'s mind at a young age. We have to admit a disappointing fact that people are naturally reluctant to cooperation. The reason is simple: in cooperation people have to share their resources and their own brainchild with others, which can be unwise and risky in a competitive society. Nonetheless, cooperation is definitely becoming a necessity in today\'s world, and provisional people are advocating for it. Needless to say, if children are taught the spirit of cooperation when they are young, they may be more successful in the future.

In addition, there is no doubt that cooperation has become one of the main themes of today\'s society, and is going to be even more pivotal in the future. Therefore, it is imperative to foreground cooperation in educating the next generation. Multifarious aspect need to be considered in doing so. For instance, mutual respect is so important in cooperation that young people need to know how to get along well with others. What is more, the ability to organize is also crucial for cooperation, especially for leaders. Take the Human Genome Project as an example. This international endeavor consisted of more than ten countries and thousands of researchers, and took more than a decade to finish. Leading such a huge project requires the leaders to be highly capable.

However, we should bear in mind that competition between people, institutes and countries are always there. If a student only knows cooperation and has no sense of competitive, he or she would be unlikely to be an eligible leader in the future. Having a sense of competition makes us better prepared for catching up others, or avoid being catched up. The development of human society is essentially a history of competitions between countries and ethinics. Only by educating younger generation on competition can they be more competitive in future leadership.

Due to aforementioned, cooperation should absolutely be emphasized in educating future leaders in government, industry and other fields, but competition should not be overlooked at the same time.