"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It might seem logic, at first glance, to agree with the argument that rush-hour traffic could be mitigated by adding a bicycle lane, based on the fact that many dwellers are bicycle lovers and it is proved to be an unsuccessful practice to add an additional lane of traffic. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have significant amount of additional evidence.

The first piece of evidence that we would need in order to evaluate the claims is information about the comparison between Blue Highway and Green Highway. It is very likely that the two lanes are not comparable at all. First of all, the terrible traffic congestions could have been caused by different reasons such as poor traffic management and road condition. If it were to turn out that the roads haven’t been maintained for a long time because of the lack of staff and workers, the additional traffic lane should not be blamed. Furthermore, the failure of Green Highway last year cannot be applied to current situation. In other words, an additional lane might be effective on Blue Highway since the government could learn valuable experience from the past by preventing the potential problems. If this is the case, the assumption that another lane of traffic would be doomed to be failure on Blue Highway would be seriously weakened.

Another piece of evidence might help us evaluate this claim involves the assumption that bicyclists are more likely to utilize bicycles as their everyday commuting methods. If we were to learn that there is no strong correlation between riding bike as a hobby and traveling to workplace towards bike, it would significantly undermine the conclusion. It could turn out to be the case, for example, there might be long distance between home and working area for a large percentage of people using Blue Highway so it is unreasonable for them to ride between two spots. To be specific, compared with riding, driving may diminish the commuting time by more than 50 percent, and then people are more likely to persist on their old driving habits no matter how much they are keen to ride. For another aspect, whether it is suitable for riding largely depends on other peripheral ingredients such as weather condition. Would people still stick to bicycle if it is a rainy day? All in all, the speculation that a bicycle lane will no doubt encourage people travel by bike would be far-fetched if the cases discussed before happened.

Clearly, then, we need to have additional evidence in order to get a more complete understanding of what could be the most effective method to resolve the heavy traffic jams on Blue Highway. Though it might be useful to add a bicycle lane, the validity of this proposal should base on other evidence including people’s willingness to commute by bike on a daily basis and the applicability of the past experience of building up a new traffic lane on Green Highway.