"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

In this argument, the director of the large hospital group asserts that the entire hospital system should utilize the UltraClean as a hand-washing material in order to reduce the serious patient infections. However, this argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, the argument assumes that the concentrated solution of UltraClean is so effective that it kills 40 percent more infectious bacteria than did the soap currently used in the hospitals. Yet, in order for the argument to be successful, it would have to show what happens with the concentrated sample of the soap currently used. UltraClean may demonstrate such a successful result because the concentrated solution was tested.

Second, the director states that significantly fewer infection cases were reported than any other hospitals during the trial of UltraClean at the hospital in Worktown. However, the claim does not contain a solid ground. The cases of infection among the patients decreased at the hospital where the trial was conducted. However, without the absolute numbers of all patients, comparing the numbers of cases is meaningless. In other words, there are two cases, 20 cases of infection out of 1000 patients and 10 cases out of 100. Although the absolute number decreases, there is no doubt that the first case is more favorable.

Lastly, the argument further assumes that replacing the current soap with UltraClean will help the patient prevent severe infections. The problem with the argument is that not every patient washes their hands with soaps. It may be because patients simply don’t want to or believe that using anything in the hospital cause harm than good. And the number of infectious cases had fluctuated regardless of how many liquid hand soaps had been used. Unless the concrete relationship between usage of soaps and the number of infection cases is presented, this argument doesn’t hold.

In conclusion, the argument fails to provide enough evidence for the necessity of replacing the current soap with a new one, UltraClean, to prevent infectious diseases because it primarily relies on weak assumptions mentioned above. Since the argument does not present reliable data on the absolute numbers of all patient, the condition of current soaps in the lab, and patients’ tendency of using soaps, it lacks logical reasoning and evidence.