The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that teachers in high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week based on the performance and the loading of homework between the students of Marlee and those of Sanlee. However, some musing over evidence is first very much before taking any steps.

First of all, the writer claims that the amount of homework of Sanlee is heavier than that of Marlee based on how many days for homework per week. Nevertheless, the content of the homework of two schools is not presented. It is possible that the intensity of the homework of two schools is different. The assigned daily homework of Sanlee would be data collecting from internet and do not require analysis about the data. In contrast, that of Marlee is overwhelmed with math equation and science argument even less homework days. It is also possible that the difficulty of two schools are different. Despite the daily homework of Sanlee, the difficulty is much easier than that of Marlee. If either one is true, then the writer is hardly to claim the persuasiveness of the conclusion.

Secondly, the writer also suggests that more students of Marlee earn better grades and less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than those in Sanlee. Nevertheless, the judgement of the schools is not offered in the argument. Perhaps, Marlee use lower criteria than Sanlee to judge if students need to repeat a year of school or not, so Marlee students are more likely to pass the criteria. Or the score to grade conversion is more favorable for Marlee students than Sanlee. For instance, Marlee categorizes 60 of 100 score to grade 3, but Sanlee goes with grade 2. If either of two cases is true, then the claim that the performance of Marlee students is better than that of Sanlee would be weakened.

Moreover, the writer mentions that Marlee students are more likely to concentrate on personal assignments than do the Sanlee pupils who have to do homework every day. Still, the relationship between the frequency of homework assignment to concentration on assignment is unclear. Possibly, more practice makes Sanlee students getting familiar with the subjects and have better performance instead of losing concentration. If it is true, then the claim that less homework better concentration could not hold the water. Therefore, the policy is going to degrade the performance of the students in the future if executed.

In conclusion, readers could not believe in the argument unless the author offers the evidence mentioned above.