In an effort to improve our employees productivity we should implement electronic monitoring of employees Internet use from their workstations Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce th

To foster better work ethics and overall profits Climpson company is planning to implement electronic monitoring of employee's internet usage from their workstation. To bolster the claims the company has put forward some evidences. One of them is to employees are identifies and punished if they spent little amount of time working. Secondly, if they are using internet for personal or recreational activities strong action would be taken against them. However the argument can be considered viable if they answer the following questions and also has to go through scrupulous discussions.

Firstly, Employees Internet usage and efficiency is dependent upon various factors. If one is enthusiastic towards coding and solving problems there is no use of implementing this software. Instead of monitoring the company could motivate them by appreciating the efforts now and then when an prominent task is accomplished or during releases of a feature for an eminent hard work. For instance, the employee might be in a call all the time which this colleagues regarding some technical discussions the app that they use might consume minute amount of data and he could be punished even after being a prominent resource. If this point is considered the argument is undermined.

In addition, the company is never tracking the applications they are using and mainly concentrating on the internet usage. Suppose, an individual can easily manipulate the amount of usage by constantly opening websites which requires huge amount of data and keep refreshing it even though he is not contributing a substantial amount in work. During review process he/she would show the figures of higher internet used and would demand for a remarkable hikes. The manager would assume it to be true instead of actually giving it to a person who is worthwhile.

Lastly, the applications that an employee could use offline are not mentioned. What is the employee is coding or working in the background app which works offline ? His internet would represent a zero usage during a day in turn leading to fallacious data across the company. In other cases he might get sick during a day and could be offline. So, the individual would login during weekends to complete his/her task capriciously. These people would be attenuated and never get into the limelight.

To conclude, the argument is irrational with many unwarranted assumptions and can be considered tenable only if the company provides answers and further evidences to strengthen their argument. At this point the argument is dubious and almost falls flat with the misleading questions.