The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon."For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 p

In the preceding argument, the author states that Grandview Symphony are able to fully self-supporting, and the city can eliminate the fund from the next year's budget, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, the author states that there is a private fund helps the Symphony by 200 percent that led to double the attendance. Secondly, the Symphony will increase the ticket prices for the next year. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of questions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, even there is a concrete and positive relation between the private fund offer by 200 percent and the significant rising in the attendance number. This does necessarily indicates a conspicuous relation between the two events. In other words, how he concluded the causation? And how the strong relation is? Plus what kind of contributions that flourish this type of success. Thus, building a decision depends on vague causation is not plausible and he has to assess the situation carefully to identify the real relation.

Furthermore, the largest leap in the argument also lies in increasing the ticket price for the next years. In deed, how he assumed that increase the ticket price will guarantee the same attendance in the next year. Perhaps people will never go when the price increase. Further, depends on what data they will increase the price and how much the rise will help to fund the Symphony. Are there shows all they time?. Consequently the argument is without basis and in order to boost the argument he has to answer all the previous questions clearly.

Moreover, the fallacy of the argument is stating that it is fine to eliminate the city fund by the next year because they are able to fund themselves, but depends on what they assume that, the city fund might be the backbone of supporting the Symphony and perhaps they are the only permanent supporter for the Symphony. Thus the argument lack a depth of details and without these data the argument is weak.

All in all, the argument fails to mention one key factor. Namely, all the previous assumptions are equivocal, Hence, without complete information and answering all the question the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.