The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In an editorial of a local newspaper, the editor cite one passage which emphasizes traffic problem to commuters. Furthermore, the editor gives different solution to this problem. He cites one claim made by commuters and also refutes it in subsequeancial statement. Another group of people is in favor of adding bicycle lane in highway to reduce traffic. Although,it has this explination regarding his point of view, I disprove this argument.

Initially, the author cites a point of view of commuters who are in favor of adding an additional lane to highway. This might reduce traffic, though commuters should give numerical data regarding how much traffic is happning today? How much traffic reduction occurs due to extra lane? Is there sufficient space available to build extra lane? This all aspects consider during the construction of extra lane. Commuters will reconstruct their claim by giving answer to this questions and by providing sufficient numerical data.

Second, the editor gives information about opponents of this argument. They reject a claim which was made by commuters and say that this kind of action might exacperate the traffic situation. So, they provide new point of view to add bicycle lane in highway which reduce traffic and encourage commuters to ride bicycle. Although, this point of view looks like cogent, it also has loopholes. Like, it is not indicating how addition of bicycle lane effect traffic situation? I ask this question, because it has not given information which indicates how commuters encourage to ride bicycle, despite rejection of their point of view? How they convince commuters to ride bicycle? Hence, the opponents should make more strong their claim by taking commuters in confidence.

At the end, the opponents cites that this extra bicycle lane reduce traffic problem. For this, he has not provided any numerical data which bolsters this claim. He has also not provided information of the types of traffic which give information about low load or high load vehicles which are responsible for traffic. If large weight vehicle are responsible for traffic, then construction of new bicycle lane has no effect on traffic and it ultimatily converts into waste of money, time and labor.

In conclusion, I just want to tell that if the author really wants to reduce the traffic problems, then first he should find reasons, because of which this kind of problem occur. He also tries to remove this reasons that leads to reduce in traffic problems.