The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument attempts to draw a conclusion based on some incipient information which states medical experts claim and some other data but does not provide any solid ground to justify those claims. The argument finally concludes that the physical fitness is most likely labile to the economic condition which is not a sound logic as there are many questions unanswered regarding to the situation.

The author claims that 20 years ago one half of the citizen met the physical fitness standard whereas at present index has plummeted to one fourth. The evidence seems to be weak as the author failed to describe the basis of that standard as there can be some situations where we can not apply those. For example, there can be a huge industrialization in recent years in Carpora which caused a massive influx of people in the city from nearby villages & thus invalidating the standard which was appropriate for local people.

Again, the claim by the medical experts claim about computer & decline in fitness is not substantiated by any survey, lab experiments and that is why there remain a question regarding the viability of their claim. So the assumption of using excessive computer is exacerbating the condition is seriously undermined. To strengthen the argument, the author would benefit from implementing an experiment on some citizen who uses computer and do some comprehensive test on their physical fitness while using computer.

Additionally, the statement asserts that the fitness in the other part of the city is higher is also an incomplete information because it does not clarify the demographic & geographic condition of that part which can be a residential area with a lot of park and open space for the people to exercise whereas the stated low fitness area is encumbered with a lot of slums. So a residential area can have a lot of computer owner but only that cause does not justify the reason of having a better physical fitness. So, that shortage of information obviously undermines the assumption.

Likewise, the author is optimistic regarding the influence of economic condition & larger budget allotment for fitness products which will eventually result in better fitness but again fails to provide any specific situation of the present economic condition. There are not enough information to categorize that fitness level is proportional to the expenditure as the officials involved can be corrupted and thus it will not bring any good in that case without costing states money.

To conclude, the argument lacks information and seen to present inchoate assumption. The solution proposed by the author seems tenuous due to lack of supporting evidences. The author must have given more concrete information to substantiate his claim to make the argument more cogent.