The following appeared in a health magazine."The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they

The argument assumes that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles because it indicates that few of the citizens tend to eat sulia and they conform more government nutritional recommendations than before. However, without thinking about some specific evidence about these reasons, the argument is tenuous.

One problem of the argument is the survey showing citizens conform more closesly to government nutritional recommendations thatn before. Without giving some specific evidence about the survey, its credibility is unsubstantiated. We do not know who made the survey and the amount of people included in the survey. The survey may did by workers of the magazine company, whose purpose is exaggerating the truth and absorbing more citizens' attention to get more profits. In this way, the truth may be belied. Moreover, people involved in the survey may not considerable, so it cannot represent most citizens' willings and interests. So the survey is unconvincing. Even if people really obey their government, the reason for citizens' conformation may due to some benefits from the government. The government may supply some awards or bonus to people, if they conform the recommendation. Hence, the survey is tenuous without some specific evidence about the details.

Furthermore, another problem of the argument is the fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran. What is the base amount of the sales of food products containing kiran before? We do not know. If the sales is not enormous at the beginning, the number of increment is not significant, which is not convincing to prove people are more healthier. Even though the fourfold increment certainly represent a gigantic number, people purchase food products containing kiran may due to other reasons. The price of these food products may slump currently, so citizens would like to choose these food to eat and diminish their expenditure rather than utilizing these foods to reduce cholesterol. And citizens might even be benighted about the function of kiran. Consequently, without specifying some detailed evidence about the increment of the sales, the arguement is untenable.

Even if the survey and the increment is correct, they could not represent that citizens have adopted more healthful lifestyles, because there are numerous of methods to live a healthy life. If citizens always stay up pretty late and do not do some exercise such as playing basketball and jogging, they did not adopt a more healthful lifestyle. If people still eat junk food such as fried chicken and hamburgers, they are not living a healthy life. If some concrete evidences about how they adopt a more healthful lifestyle had been given, the conclusion of the argument would have become more persuasive. Therefore, to bolster the conclusion, some concrete evidence to delineate people's lives should be discussed.

In sum, the argument confidently presumes that citizens have adopted more healthful lifestyles. To strenthen the conclusion, more evidence about the survey, the increment of the sales and people's changes should be spedified.