The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author assumes that due to wearing a helmet, people feel safer. Then people can take more risks when riding the bicycle. Thus, if teaching people bicycle safety, the number of injury will decrease. However, this assumption is unwarranted because it lacks some pieces of evidence and didn’t ruling out some possible factors.

The first problematic assumption is that the author relies on nationwide study of wearing a helmet to suggest that people wearing a helmet is increasing dramatically. However, the author does not mention the exactly number of people wearing a helmet involved in this study. Specifically, there are more than one trillion population, but they merely study one thousand people: only increasing from 350 to 850. Then, the nationwide study cannot represent the overall number of people wearing a helmet since the exactly number of people is lacking.

Another dubious assumption is that the arguer fails to establish the causal relationship between feeling safety and taking more risks. It’s highly possible that other factors contributed taking more risks. For instance, taking more risks might have resulted from life pressure since bicycle is used to relieve stress. It is also likely that the function of bicycle is changed because more and more people like extreme sport. Lacking evidence that links felling safety and taking more risks, it is presumptuous to suggest that feeling safety was responsible for taking more risks.

Even if relationship between feeling safety and taking more risks is exist, it is imprudent to presume that no factors other than lacking teaching people safety course caused increasing the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents. A myriad of other factors, including unwilling attendance of course, or unwilling to follow the guide, might be the cause of increasing the number of injury. To be specific, even though people attend the course, people still don’t follow the guide, which will make backfire the motivation of attending the course. Without ruling out these and other possible causes, the editor cannot justifiably conclude that only by teaching people safety course can reducing the number of injury.

To sum up, the author’s assumption is unwarranted because of lacking evidence and didn’t preclude some other possible factors. If author offers the exactly number of people in the study, evidence that links feeling safety and taking more risks, and precludes the possible factors that people is unwilling to attend the course or unwilling to follow the guide, the conclusion will be more reasonable.