The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author is making an interesting argument that the government has to concentrate on the education other than the usage of helmets for bicycle users’ safety. While the author is arguing on some studies from the future, we need so see more specific evidences in order to evaluate the argument from the author. There are unwarranted assumptions that the author has made and unevaluated evidences that may dismay the author’s argument.

First, we have to consider the degree of accidents. While the percent has increased compared to the second study, we do not know how serious was accidents specifically. As we can see from the first study that the number of helmet usage percentage has increased, we may consider although the number of accidents may have risen, there are possibility that while the number of accidents might have raised, the seriousness of individual injuries might have been decreased thanks to the increased usage of helmets. We need more figures and evidences from the second study, other than just simple percentage that can accurately show us how the seriousness of accidents. This evidence will weaken the author’s argument.

Moreover, we need to analyze whether the author’s argument that increased percent of bicycle users’ use of helmets had led to bicycle users’ feeling safety, which lead them to more accidents is true. It is true from the two studies that the author has mentioned; the percent of helmet usage and the percent of accidents have increased. However, we cannot simply conclude that the increased percent of helmet usage had lead to the increased percent of accidents, and the author’s unwarranted claim that bicycle users are riding recklessly due to the helmets alone. There are some alternative explanations possible. While the number of bicycle users has increased and the number of accidents also has increased compared to ten years ago, as the author has argued. However, there are other possibility that the accidents are the result of accidents with bicycles and cars that have lead by the lack of enough bicycle roads. Bicycle users had to use the same road with the cars, and that was the cause of the increased number of accidents. Moreover, we need to see how each accidents were resulted in order to see whether it was the bicycle user’s ignorance that had lead to increased number of accidents. This evaluation may weaken the author’s argument as well.

Last but not least, even the all the arguments that the author has made is true, we still need to concentrate on both usage of helmets and other education. Simply we have to educate bicycle users to use helmets and other important lessons that the author might argue in the future. This is because we do not know the exact number of each accident’s fatality rate and whether the usage of helmet has decreased the seriousness of each individual’s damage. There is no exactly specified evidence in the author’s argument that the helmet’s safeties. The author is only mentioning the increase in percent numbers. We need to see, despite all those numbers, that helmet is actually safe at first place. If helmets are saving the riders, then we can, despite the increased number of percent in both accidents and helmet usage, argue that it is important to make the riders to use helmets. Other education, if needed as the author is arguing, could applied to the users while we make those riders to use helmets first; we can do two things at the same time.

In conclusion, although the author’s argument might appealing at the first glance, there are many unspoken evidences that we need to evaluate in order to justify the author’s argument.