The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Author claims that Island should limit the number of moped rentals to decrease the accidents. But author have not given any convincing statical representation of reliable data. Moreover, in conclusion, author gave recommendation that if Seaville’s island made achievements by limiting the moped rentals. Again author has not presented any clearance on believing that it would be the solution to lessen the accidents in the Balmer Islands.

Fist of all, author states that with the limitation of the moped in the Balmer Island, this area could be safer for the people who visited here. Since, writer has not shown any reliable statistical data to believe, so we can not rely on the statement. Again, author claims that in summer season the number of accidents occurrence is increasing but without clear, data we can not rely on that. It might be happen that in winter season the number of accidents events took more than summer. Moreover, without knowing the present rentals , we can not say limiting moped can save the accidents life.There might be less moped rentals than the proposed limitation of moped number. If this is the case, then this proposed idea would not work to reduse the aciidents.

Secondly, author suggests that moped is major vehicles and if authority limit it, then accidents can be reduced. But, there is no clear evidence that moped is the major travel. If moped is limited then people can use car so may be the accidents occur more. So, there is not mentioned any other safer transportation if moped is decreased. Moreover, if people can not visit this island then there would be economical loss for the governments.

Thirdly, author recommends that if authority follow as like the Seaville's town then there might be less accidents in Balmer Islands. But writer has not presented any clear data to rely on that. Furthermore, he should give the total information of the Seaville island so that we can compare. It could be probability that the road condition was good there and they used more moped so that proposed idea worked for them to reduce accidents.

In conclusions, authority should not rely on unclear and unreliable data to make the such kind of decisions. Besides, author should represents clear data to believe and establish the steps to save the people lives.