The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of the store, in his letter to the editor, aver that the skateboarding is the sole reason of diminishing in the business of Central Plaza and in claiming that he recommended to prohibit skateboarding in central Plaza which will help restore the flourish of the business of Central Plaza. In recommending that the author cited, as a evidence, that business in Central Plaza has decreased in past two years while business of skateboarding has increased dramatically. He also stated that litter and vandalism has increased also. Apparently, the author's recommendation is appealing, but meticulous scrutiny of the argument reveals that his argument is based on some unsubstantiated assumptions. Before accepting his recommendation, the owner of the store needs to answer the following three questions.

Firstly, Is there any other factors that affects the business of Central Plaza? Or does the decrease in business of Central Plaza occur due to other factors than Skateboarding? The author states that, in past two years, the business of central plaza has decreased while business of Skateboarding has increased. In claiming that the owner of the store assumed that decrease in business was caused by Skateboarding. It is possible that other factors has been liable for the decline in their business. Perhaps, the quality of goods has diminished, hence their business has dampened. If the answer to the above question holds true, then the argument will not be valid.

Secondly, is the litter and vandalism solely occurred because of the popularity of Skateboarding? The author, in his letter, maintained that the litter and vandalism has increased. In stating that he did not answer the arising question above. It may be the case that most of the visitors, who come only to their store, has baby, hence litter and vandalism has increased. If it is the case then the author's argument will not hold water.

Thirdly, does litter and vandalism dampen their business? Even if it is true that the litter and vandalism has increased due to popularity of skateboarding, the author, in claiming that, did not provide any evidence in support of the question above. It might be the case that the litter and vandalism did not dampen their business. Perhaps, their selling strategy is solely liable for the worsen of their business. Thus, without the answer to the question above, the author's claim may not stand strong.

In conclusion, the author's argument, as it stands now, is based on some unwarranted assumptions, which raises some questions. In evaluating his recommendation one needs to answer the following questions.