The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that the adoption of an advertising campaign to raise awareness among citizens for all that concerns recycling would reduce garbage disposal costs of Masontown, may seem logical at first glance. However, the author relies mostly on some unsupported assumptions, that should be clarified by addressing him some questions.

First, it is not clear if in Hayesworth the law on the garbage was the one that have made the biggest change. For instance, some information about the population of the city is needed to understand whether there had been a decrease in number of citizens during the last year that could have led to consume less garbage and, thus, to the reduction of the disposal costs. Moreover, this information would be also crucial in order to understandand if the situation considered is similiar to the one of Masontown and if the two cities are confrontable in terms of number of inhabitants.

In addition, it is not clear by the text the relationship between the implementation of the law and its direct results. The author need to answer a some questions regarding a more complex analysis of the data provided to understand if the economic benefits of the law were more caused by the increasing recycling attitude of inhabitant or by people who had to pay the fine. In fact, if the scenario was more similar to the ladder rather than to the former, the advertising campaign mentioned could not have all the results wanted.

Furthermore, the economic side of the argument should be taken into deeper consideration. The author needs to ask questions about the relationship between the money invested on the advertisment campaign and the income deriving from it. In fact, it is not clear whether the effects provided by the implementation of the policy will, economically speaking, overweight or at least equalize, the costs deriving from it.

In conclusion, the author is not completely wrong while stating that an advirtisment campaign would provide benefits to his town in terms of people starting recycling garbage. However, his thesis should be strenghten by adding more evidence and by making clearer some points of his reasoning that seem quite illogical by asking to some specific questions. First he needs to make a comparison between the city of Hayesworth and his own city in terms of number of inhabitant and their rate of growth. Seocndly, he need to clarify whether Hayesworth's benefits derive mostly on the increment of recycling or from the fine payed by citizens. Last, he need to answer questions about the financial costs of this policy and to explain how he is sure to have back the money invested, by analyzing every possible scenario.