The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a local Solano newspaper. "The Solano school district should do away with its music education programs. After all, music programs are not especially popular in our schools: Only 20 percent of our high sc

In the preceding argument, the editor of a local Solano newspaper claims, The Solano school ought to remove its music education program.The conclusion of the argument is based on the premises. Firstly, the editor states that music programs are not popular by stating that 20 percent of high school students participated in music programs last year. Secondly, he claims that few of students college age are interested in majoring in music.Thirdly, he states that the money spent on the music program could be better to spent, in order to improve other courses. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on the plethora of assumptions that could undermine the argument.

First of all, the argument is the Solano school has to remove its music program is not plausible, specially it depends on the editor prediction that students are not favor the music program, and citing a number to strengthen his claim makes the situation worse. Firstly, we do not know the demographic variables that has been taken in the study such as students number, ages, gender, their predilection for specific type of music, so how we can generalize the finding without knowing the basic information. The second vital point is, students might not participate in the high school program because there are not facilities, suitable teacher or even strong plan to follow it. In other words, he fails to mention the controlling variables to conclude the assumption.

Second of all, the editor states that few students interested in the music program as a major, but the truth is he undermine his position by using vague word such FEW, there is no solid ground such as statistics for generalization. In context, he fails also to give a neighboring school as a vivid example to emphasize his position, because we do not have reliable information about this school, may the school has a financial problems or different plan or needs time to burgeon their music program, and there is no relation between the rising students point average by 10 percent and omitting the program because music has a positive impact on students mood and mind and a lot of studies indicate using music as a kind of therapy. In short, without these details nothing toward bolstering the assumption.

Thirdly, the author claims, Solano school should not spend money on its music program and they have to invest in traditional courses in order to improve it, hence, he fails to mention from where he conclude the assumption, he did not aware for the student they are interested in music and the negative consequence that will face them. So, without ruling out all the possible truths about the music program, the author fails again to support the situation.

In conclusion, the author fails to justify the argument about removing the music program from Salano school in order to improve the general case of the school. To be more convincing, the author should provide more information about all the previous flaws.