The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the letter has tried to present various negative impacts of sports on children under the age of 10 to request for ban of athletic competition for them. However, the argument is not cogent enough since it is rife with holes and assumptions.

The first point discussed it that last year around forty thousand children within the concerned age bracket were injured during the youth-league. Firstly, we are not sure of percentage of the total participants were presented by these students? also, we not sure what proportion of senior students received wounds? also, we need more details to understand how injuries and tender age of the these children are related. are children below 10 more fragile and thus more prone to falls?

The second point the writer has added is regarding the pressure exerted on the participants by parents and coaches. Anyone can come under stress regardless of the age. No detail has been added if the psychology impacted students were more commonly reported in the given age bracket. No scientific studies have been included that explicitly stated the children up to nine are more vulnerable.

Thirdly, it has been presented that the time students could spent on studies is used up in practice sessions, but no specific data has been presented to include to show how these sessions are majorly impacting children under 10. are their basics skills not being fully developed or they are not fluent is a secondary language since they have been missing classes?

All the concerns presented in the letter seem to be general. Something that can be common to many participants. To link them closely a certain age group, we will need more elaborated facts and figures. Only once these are shared any conclusive decision regarding the sports events can be taken.