The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

In order to enhance morale within the existing faculty members and to attract new professors, the faculty committee of Seatown University has suggested the president of the university to offer free tuition for the professors' college-aged children. This proposal is based on a study that was conducted by a nearby Oceania University which found that faculty retention is higher when this type of incentive is given to the professors. Although this letter seems to make a cogent case for its suggestion, it needs to provide more elaboration on its stated, as well as unmentioned, evidence.

First of all, it is imprudent for the faculty committee of Seatown University to suggest a policy based on a study that interviewed professors from a different university, and not its own. There is no evidence showing that the faculty members of Oceania University are analogous to its own, which means that they could have startlingly different characteristics. It is possible that Seatown University professors might not have as much of a positive response to free tuition as those of the other University, so the president shouldn't hastily decide on pursuing this suggestion. Seatown University would first have to conduct a survey with its own professors on how they feel about this policy were it to be implemented.

Also, this survey should not be instantly approved by Seatown University because there are no details about how the study was conducted. Were all of the professors included in the study? Were any possible other variables that could affect the correlation between faculty retention and free tuition controlled for when the study was conducted? It is possible that the relationship found between faculty retention and free tuition was just pure coincidence. Perhaps there weren't that many new job offers from other universities for the professors of Oceania University when the study was conducted, explaining the low turnover. Since there a lack of details on the specifics of the study, the results that were found should not be received as concrete and factual.

The suggestion of instituting a free-tuition policy makes a person wonder, then, what the policies for professors that don't have children would be. It is highly unlikely that all the professors would have children, or they could have children who would opt out of going to college or who have already graduated from one. As such, there is no data on the proportion of professors who would benefit from this policy if it is instituted; the portion could be less than half of the professors, which would not really lead to the desired retention rate that the university is pursuing. The university should look for other measures for professors who do not fit the description for this policy, so that they would not feel that they are being marginalized.

In conclusion, unless there are more details for the evidence given in the letter, the president of Seatown University should not decide to carry out this new policy. A careful comparison on whether Seatown University is similar to Oceania University should be conducted, and the validity of the survey that is stated should be analyzed. Also, benefits for professors who don't have children should be deliberated on as well. There needs to be more supporting data in order to make this letter more persuasive.