The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore, an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this letter, the author recommends that Centerville High School should require its students to take the driver’s education course at the high school. To support this recommendation, the author points out that in the past two years, several accidents involved in teenage drivers happened in and around Centerville. The author also points out that a number of parents in Centerville complained since they are too busy to teach their children to drive, and that because of tight budget of them, it is hard for them to pay for extant two driving schools. However, this line of reasoning is problematic in several respects.

To begin with, the argument relies on the assumption that all teenage drivers engaged in all accidents happened in and around Centerville and they caused accidents. Yet the letter provides no substantiating evidence for this assumption. Perhaps, they are living nearby town so that efforts to reduce accidents by mandatory driver education would be futile. Or, it is entirely possible that, although they all are living in Centerville, they were victims of accident, not cause of these accidents. Thus, lacking reliable evidence of the assumption I suggest above, it is difficult to accept the recommendation that mandatory driver education at Centerville High School is necessary.

Also, the mere fact that a lot of parents complained that because of their lack of time they cannot teach their teenagers does not the key in determining whether all student should be required to take driver education course. The author assumes that this indicates reality that most of their children had not taken any driver education course. However, the letter provides no evidence about whether their students have never taken the course or not. Lacking such evidence, it is entirely possible that almost all student took driver course, only a few students did not and only parents of those students complained. Without considering and ruling out such a possibility, the author cannot justify the recommendation.

Finally, the author appeals to the fact that parents on tight budget cannot afford for paying for other two driving schools. The author here assumes that costs of the recommendation would not increase tuition fee of the high school. But the author ignores other possibilities. In fact, it is entirely possible that by introducing mandatory driving course at Centerville High School, costs used for building tracks, hiring new lecturers, and buying additional textbooks would necessitate additional tuition fee increment and that if this additional cost is far more expensive than prices of the extant driver schools, then those parents would object the recommendation. Without ruling out all these and other possible negative consequences, the author fails to convince me that driver education course should be taught to all the student at Centerville High School.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must account for all the assumption with convincing evidence that most of teens involved in accidents for past two years are living Centerville and they caused the accidents and that most of the students have never taken driver’s education. To better evaluate the argument, I would need also to know how much additional tuition increase be predicted relative to the costs of extant driving schools.