The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The presumption that demand in heating oil will increase in the near future for northeastern United States may seem true at first glance. The writer makes a valid argument, one that would be correct if its premises were true. However conclusion drawn in the memo relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

First, the memo assumes that an increase in the population will directly increase the amount of oil needed for oil. To be able to reach such a sharp conclusion, one must have enough information to determine the dynamics of the society. Is there a consistent increase tendency in the population of the region in recent years? It is quite natural that while some babies are being born, some other people are migrating for education, living or other reasons. Did the writer take that fact into consideration? How can he be so sure that people are going to continue living in the same cities? For example, it is fact that many people are leaving Midwest region for good to have a better future for their children. As seen, it may be misleading to assume that population is going to increase in the region.

Secondly, the writer forgets to mention alternative heating sources. We live in a world that the only thing that does not change is the change itself. While people were using coal a couple of years ago, the number of buildings using coal nowadays is scanty. Moreover, with the increasing menace of climate change, people are very sceptic about the fossil fuels anymore. Thus, the future of oil industry is so questionable that it was never in such a questionable period. There are many ways to produce energy for heating for the buildings anymore, electricity, wind, power plants etc. These are all under the hands of people waiting to serve the needs of them. Hence, companies in oil industry should worry about this situation.

Thirdly, the writer presumes that newly built apartments will require oil for heating, which falls short describing the newly trends of the construction industry. For example, most of the buildings in downtown areas are built with a perfect insulation technology that buildings only need an ac to be able to keep people warm. When the technology is so determinant in our every aspect of lives, the writer of the memo should consider it when it comes to projections. This will definitely affect the future of oil. In addition, new houses are usually smaller than previous ones, which make them more energy efficient, thus need less oil.

Overall, the board of the company may decide to invest according to the plan drawn in the memo. However, writer's arguments leave many unanswered questions and is not likely to persuade significantly the board.