The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The director recommends the construction of new dormitories in Buckingham College to serve the housing needs of the students. He used the current trends of growth in enrollment and rising rent of apartments in the town to validate his recommendations. However, the argument made by him does not make a cogent case since it is rife with holes and fissures. Before the argument is carefully reviewed, following evidences must be collected and evaluated.

First of all, evidence must be evaluated on the current trends which stated the rise in enrollment and would make it clear that it would get double in the next 50 years to come. However, if one has to consider the changing life circumstances, it is impossible to predict the same trends over the next 50 years. Since, it may happen that in the next 5 years, students would not willing to enroll in this because of downfall in its rating which may cause its new construction futile. Further, it is also possible that in the next 10 years or so, a new college comes up or a reputed college somewhere else, opens its new campus near to Buckingham. Because of its reputation in the education, students may not like to enroll in Buckingham but rather would choose this new college and thereby, making its construction useless. If both the examples were true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, evidence must be evaluated on the preference of students living in the campus. Since, it may happen that the location of this college is such to which no life exists after college. Students may feel bored after college and may like to go to other places far away from it in search of joyful and exciting things. In such a case, even the existing dormitories would remain vacant. Further, the evidence must also be evaluated for students prefer to live in apartments. Since, it may happen that students would not like to live in apartments in the town of which prices have increased but rather prefer to stay at sharing locations which may even cheaper to these college dormitories. Therefore, new dormitories would not serve any purpose. If both the instances were true, then the argument does not hold the water.

Thirdly. Evidence must also be evaluated for students’ preferences for enrollment on the basis of new and attractive dormitories. Since, it may happen that despite constructing new and lavish dormitories, students enrollment may not increase because students are more concerned on the education and teacher rankings of this college and they are least concerned about its dormitories. Further, the evidence must also state if the students coming for enrollment to this college are living faraway places where commutation is a problem. Since, it may happen that students would like to enroll themselves but instead of staying in its dormitories they would like to travel back to their homes after college. Therefore, the distance of the students from their homes to a college may have significant bearing on dormitories. Hence, unless the recommendation is fully reliable, it cannot be used to support the argument.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the director is able to offer more evidence perhaps in the form of study covering the potential of opening of new college in the town, preference of students staying in its dormitories and their inclination for enrollment in this college only, then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument.