The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The author in the memorandum points out that the time devoted to weather and local news should be resotred to its former level in their late-night news program. To virify such a agurment, the author offers some reasons, which may seem tenable at first glance. With unwarranted assumptions and poor evidences, this argument fails to be wholley compelling as it stands.

To start with, a main peoblem in the author's point of view is that the author simply assume that the most number of complaints about their station's caoverage of weather and local news can show that people care more about the weather and local news. Since, the author does not provide any strong evidence to support this assumption, it is not unreaonable to question the author's agrument. If the author can provide evidence to refute some possible situations such as people complain more about the content of weather and local news just because these part are really lower quality than the national news, and then it can't show people care more about the weather and local news. Then the validity of the author's conclusion will be significant strengthened.

Additionally, the author claims that local businesses just cancel their late-night news program advertising contracts with their station and aussme the reason is that they decrease the time of weather and local news. There is no evidence to support such a causal relationship. If we can find evidence showing that the local businesses cancel the advertising contracts by other reasons such as just the company's business strategy and have nothing to do with the televation station. Given this circumstance, the author's point of view will be untenable.

Finally, the author thinks that through restoring the time for weather and local news to its former level, station can attract more viewers to their program and can avoid the futher advertising revenues. For this point, if there are some evidence shows that the number of viewers are not decrease as the time of weather and local news decrease in the past year, then station can't attract more viewers by incresing the time of weather and local news. For this situation, the author can't hold his/her point.

To sum up, there are, as I have presented before, a lot of obvious flaws that need to be addressed for lacking tenable evidence and sound reasoning. Otherwise, any impetus implementation of the auhor's conclusion might be backfire.