The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above memo, the author argues that Buckingham College needs to aggrandize its existing dormitory to accommodate the growing enrolment. The author buttresses his claim based on the premise that the students’ number is increasing and off-campus apartment rent is increasing continuously. Furthermore, the author argues that students will be more predilected to enrol into the college by its arresting new dormitory. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that Buckingham College needs to expand its dormitory to serve the increasing number of students and in the future, the number of student enrolment will be increasing without any necessary evidence. One may ask about the legitimacy of the strategy of using circumstances from one thing to predict and generalize the other. The is a possibility that maybe after a few years, student enrolment will decrease significantly due to its insufficient infrastructure. If the above situation is true then the author’s argument holds no water. The author does not provide sufficient information regarding his prognosis. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study of reasons behind the current increasing number of students’ number then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author argues that students will face difficulties to afford off-campus housing due to increasing apartment rates without any evidence regarding students’ conditions. Maybe most of the students who enrol on college are from nearby towns from where they can commute to college regularly by public transportation. In that case, students do not have to afford an apartment. Even if this is not the case, Perhaps most of the students are willing to share 3 or more persons in an apartment then increasing rent does not affect individuals not so much. The author does not provide any admissible evidence regarding the students of the college. The author has to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a survey report of chart students’ opinions to rectify his argument otherwise, the author’s argument is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author argues that the number of enrolments will increase since students will be attracted to its new dormitories without providing any justifiable evidence regarding the college itself. Perhaps the academic curriculum of Buckingham College is too obsolete to compete with other colleges. In that case, students may not want to enrol on the college in the near future. There is a feasibility that the nearby area of the college campus is often subject to violence regularly, in that case, students may not want to enrol in the near future due to lack of safety. If the above scenarios are true then students will not enrol on the college despite its delectable new dormitory. The author does not provide any genuine evidence regarding the college. If the author can provide more evidence perhaps in a form of a research study regarding the college and its surrounding area then, it will prop his argument.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can elucidate the three assumptions above and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s recommendation that Buckingham College needs to increase its dormitory to attend to the student’s accommodation needs.