The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing. "Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued producti

In this memo, the vice president of men's clothing company recommends that the compant should restart to produce its alpaca over coat which stopped five years ago in that they have new wool fabric supplier. With the analyzation of competitor and the predication of the poetential market , the vice president concludes that the company profits will increase. While the statement is problematic ,we shoule evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, the vice president does not tell us whether the overcoat sold well in the past.After five years, with a new supplier, the conclusion that they will sell the coat well is not convincing. Because we do not know whether the company was famous by the overcoat five years ago. Even they was, after five years, no one will make the full promise that they will also thrive by the same prodution. Maybe the people would like to but other product to keep warm. So the vice president should make a survey of the market, be specific, at least they should know thether people like the alpaca overcoat.

In addition, without the new pattern ,no one will be awared that whether the people today will like the design of alpaca coat by the company.Clothes, always on behalf of fashion, maybey the company should open an exhibition of overcoat to make a test, the peers' act and the market' response will be significant to this new production.

What's more, given the vice president has analyzed the major competitor, which did not make alpaca overcoat anymore. I suggest the vice president should be more cautious by their major enemies' move. It is important to know whether they abadoned this prodcution. There is a high possbility that the market, or to be specific, the people don'r like the alpaca overcoat at all. Every manager in the fashion industry should take care of the taste of people, in that every one could be a potential buyer.So the prediciton by the vice president thah there will be high comsumer demands is not cogent without obvious evidence likewise.

Finally, the profits of a company depends on various of factors, so the company making more profits by this new coat is not convincing. Firstly, the vice president does not tell us the producing price per capita, given the price of clothes are increasing in these five years, the price of wool fabirc maybe increasing,too. Secondly, the vice president does not show us how about other clothes's sellling in this company, so we can not predict this profit's incresing merely by this new productions.

In conclusion, the evidence proving the new alpaca overoats's market is not convincing. The vice president does not tell us the telling reason to support his recommendation. I suggest the vice president should make an exhaustice survey to find out the response of the market and the consumers' taste. I believe the new design should be tested by professionals before entering the market.